Gallery

Of music, concerts, and feelings

Music is everything to me. I live and breathe to listen to great music. And concerts are my pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.

This year, I have so far been to six international concerts, which is a great number considering I hardly get to go to even one concert in the past years. I have been “deprived” of going to concerts when I was younger due to a lack of funding. That slight deprivation turned out to be a good thing after all. I get to experience my favorite artists now, watch and listen to them perform my favorite songs LIVE, and honestly, it doesn’t get any sweeter than being able to live in moments I have only dreamed of when I was little.

Those moments of standing inside a theater, coliseum, or arena with thousands of people who share the same passion that you have for music, of being one with the crowd anticipating what will happen next; what songs will be played, how the lights will set the mood, how the artists will interact with their fans. Those overwhelming moments. In fact, too overwhelming than how I dreamed them to be.

And it’s not just about being in the community of music lovers that is exciting. Imagine the sight of the artists who you only see on the screens of your TV, computer, and/or smartphone, finally in front of you, breathing the same air as you do. The feeling is a mix of different emotions; wonderful and electric. Then there are those songs you listen to when you go to sleep, or travel, or daydream. Songs that make you laugh, cry, fall in love, get through a heartbreak. Songs that speak to you the most. Those songs are played for you, to you. All these things happening all at once, in one room; there’s just no “right” way to react, nay, no one could ever know how to react to these beautiful, magical chaos. You just live in it because there is nothing better to do than to live in the moment.

A list of the concerts I have been to this year:

01. Lifehouse Out Of The Wasteland Tour. October 08, 2015.

Even after all these years, Lifehouse is still the same band I knew when I was so much younger – edgy but with a lot of soul and heart; in their songs, in their sound, and in the way they perform. The passion they have in creating music is incredible. I guess there are those artists with songs you simply can’t sing along to despite knowing all the words in them. Lifehouse is one of those artists. I stood all night near the stage, simply soaking it all in; feeling the lyrics, smiling, tearing up, and just enjoying the beautiful music this band has so generously shared with the world.

The night was brimming with nostalgia.

And yes, I cried during Hanging By A Moment!

02. Imagine Dragons Smoke  + Mirrors Tour. August 27, 2015.

I have been dying to watch Imagine Dragons since the Night Visions era. My desire to watch them LIVE intensified after their Radioactive performance with Kendrick Lamar at the Grammys in 2014 (THAT EXPLOSIVE DRUM SOLO!!! They did that in their concert too!!!).

Imagine Dragons is a rock band in every sense of the word; it’s in their blood, it’s in their core. It is further manifested in their sophomore album, Smoke + Mirrors, which has a darker sound than their first. Songs are filled with heavy drums and hair-raising intros, accompanied by deep emotions of mostly pain and regret. Their lyrics are not what most people can easily relate to, but nothing short of brilliant and flawless.

The music they create is pure gold, it touches your heart and soul in the most extreme way possible. When they perform, they put all their selves in their performance. It’s as if they have their own world but they don’t leave you out of it, they take you with them. I should know. I have witnessed it. And again and again, I will say this:

Imagine Dragons LIVE is one of the most, if not the most, MIND-BLOWING concert experiences of my life.

03. Walk The Moon Live In Manila. August 20, 2015.

Walk The Moon is a unique and extraordinary band and I can’t even express how much I love them and how deeply I am in love with them. The songs from their latest album, Talking Is Hard, are so fun and quirky one could spend the whole night just dancing to them beats. Walk The Moon is one of the best bands that are so good LIVE; Nick’s high notes while dancing and playing the keyboards, Eli’s guitar solos that are out of this world, Sean’s passion that’s evident as he plays the drums, and Kevin’s amazing bass skills and harmonies.

Walk The Moon’s energy is infectious, there’s no reason not to love them.

Everyone should take a moment to listen to the only mellow song on the Talking Is Hard album, Aquaman. A song that is incredibly sweet, although at the expense of being corny, it sure hits the spot.

04. Demi World Tour. April 30, 2015.

An artist who has evolved from sweet to fierce and confident, Demi Lovato doesn’t need a huge production to back her up in her performances. All it takes is her powerful vocals mixed with her class and sass. She’s, indeed, one true and inspiring nightingale.

05. The Script Live In Manila. April 17, 2015.

My first ever rock concert. I have said a lot about The Script and about this night in this lengthy, needless to say, emotional post. It is still true and genuine when I say that:

I have never seen anything quite like The Script. Ever.

The Script is the closest band to my heart and I am just grateful to be part of The Script Family.

06. Christina Perri Head or Heart Tour. March 05, 2015.

An underrated artist who is probably one of the best vocalists today, Christina Perri could reach the highest notes and blow the roof off the place she’s playing in. It was an amazing experience having the chance to watch her on stage.


I find concerts the place where I am most vulnerable, the time I am in my most honest and true self. I laugh. I cry. I sing my heart out without a care in the world. I don’t mind if people are going to judge me or if they already are/have been judging me for screaming at the top of my lungs and jumping like there’s only today to live. Because it’s true, I could only get to live in the moment for the time being. So why hold back? In concerts, I am free. It’s inexplicable; the high I get from it.


Share your experience!

